Bye 2016, Hi 2017 :)

2016 is over, it seems like it was only yesterday when I moved to Romania from Mexico. What a year! New country, new language, new people, new culture. Yes, it hasn’t been easy, but surely it has been fun.

Photographically speaking it was slow. Maybe the language barrier played its toll, but slowly I´ve been able to learn a few things which allowed me  to approach people easier. Yes, Bucharest is not as colorful as Mexico, but that just makes things a bit more challenging. What I really do miss is approaching people as I was doing in Mexico, talking to them and exchanging stories. I hope this improves in 2017.

Regarding equipment, I slimmed down most of my equipment and just kept what I was really using, no more speedlights or big chunky dslrs. I kept my studio lights, just in case 🙂 I also started shooting film again, with some satisfactory results, not the best, but still good enough to make me continue with it.

The most important thing I´ve learned from 2016, (regarding photography), is that you need a story. Just going out and shooting doesn’t do it for me anymore. It might be fun, but I hope to be able to focus on specific topics during 2017: issues, people, whatever I can find. Just going out and shoot, as fun as it might have been, is not fulfilling for me anymore. So during 2017 maybe I will not  post as many images, but hope the ones I post will be more interesting.

Happy New Year!!!

Please follow a 2016 year image review….

Leave a Reply

