2012 – And it’s still clicking!

More then 2 years ago I left Venezuela and headed to Germany. Who could have imagined that I will have ended in Brazil, (at least for now). It’s been a wonderful ride and as I said on my last years post, full of ups and downs, but definitely worth living again if possible. 2012 was amazing, full of surprises, experiences, great friends; I mean not only great, lovely friends and people who I got to met and spend time with. I got a lot to thank to some of them for their help and time, but that’s not the scope of this blog… ☺ I even got to learn a few words in Rumanian, please dont ask which ones, since as always bad words are the first things to be learn in another language, maybe they will come handy someday. Even thou not much traveling as last year was done I did manage to visit some new places.

I ended moving to Brazil on February, and even thou Sao Paulo is chaotic, has insecurity problems, and etc, etc, etc, the good things overcome the bad ones, specially its people which I think has been one the great things it has to offer.

Can’t say much about how 2013 will be, but just hope things keep going as they are going!

This is a long post so thanks for looking and Happy New Year!

Started in Caracas Shooting film while i waited for my brazilian Visa!

Caracas-(27)

Caracas-(21)

Caracas-(2)

And for the second time my work was published in a newspaper, this time a whole page dedicated to my picts!

Image

Had to say goodbye to someone who I consider to be my second mom! She left home to Colombia and I to Germany, pretty sure we wont be seeing again….

Caracas-(12)

Visa ready! went to pick up my belongings in Germany and decided to pass a few weeks before heading to Brazil in Berlin. More film shooting! On the way back to Germany the plane did a small stop at Italy, sadly its been my only stop in Italy, but managed to do a couple of pictures and have lunch with some great friends i met the year before on Berlin.

Image

DSCF7228-Edit

Back in Berlin!

More street photography, (my film fever continue):

Image

Image

Image

Did some urbexing:

Image

And finally made it to Teufelsberg, my previous intent, the year before was a failure, got caught by security guards this time it went better.

Image

02_23

And after 2 years in which Germany was my home, full of great memories, and leaving behind some good friends, I moved to Sao Paulo. No more Currywurst for me, welcome Caipirinhas! It seem that my no destination journey wich had started more than 2 years ago, have finally reach a destination, (for now).

Made it right on time for Carnaval in Sao Paulo.

DSCF0046-Edit

DSC_5168-Edit

And my street portrait fever started as well. People in Brazil are great, lovely, easy to talk to, almost never received a no for a portrait.

DSCF0093-Edit

DSCF0112-Edit

And Sao Paulos city center became love at first sight, full of people, chaotic, incredible architecture, dirty, a street photographers paradise.

Brasil-(9)

Brasil-(8)

Did my first play shooting, even thou I only understood half of what they were saying.

DSC_5557-Edit

DSC_5335-Edit_C

Continue shooting more streets and people!

DSC_5841-Edit

DSC_6165-Edit

And even got to play the journalist role for a while…(fun but painful, got hit by a rubber bullet)

DSC_6335-Edit

DSC_6391-Edit

Went back to my usual style:

DSCF9525-Edit

DSCF9696-Edit

DSC_4114

And was lucky enough to participate with the ONG Alegria de Rua in Sao Paulo.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

And as the previous year got to shoot the Gay Parade!

DSCF9791-Edit

With some great new friends I made in Sao Paulo did a bit of a traveling within Brazil!

Bahia

DSCF9958-Edit

DSCF9915-Edit

Considering Brazilian prices, I decided to sell most of my equipment and upgrade it, (what can I say I love toys…).

So after quite some years of my last visit to New York I decided to escape for a few days to the Big Apple and bring some new gadgets!

DSC_0246-Edit

DSC_0179-Edit

P8120256-Edit

To make it back just in time to Brazil to go with the company I work for as volunteer documenting a social initiative for sustainability in Rio de Janeiro, my first time in Rio, and definitely an interesting way to get to know it.

DSC_1697-Edit

DSC_1842-Edit

P8251001-Edit

Back in Sao Paulo another trip was done, this time to Paraty!

P9080200

P9080176-Edit

And in Sao Paulo my weekends walk became a necessity. At least once a week I will just walk with no specific route around the city shooting. Sometimes some great picts came back, sometimes no picts were taken.

P9020207-Edit

P9020168-Edit

And for the first time headed to the city center by night to shoot, great experience.

P9220143-Edit

P9220127-Edit_BW

I was amazed at the diversity of the people in SP so for the last months been shooting mostly portraits of people in the street. Such a rich mixture of cultures, faces, smiles,…

DSC_2189-Edit

DSC_2159-Edit

DSC_2170-Edit

DSC_3282-Edit

Got to go with a lovely group of people to the Hospital Psiquiátrico Pinel in Sao Paulo, and share with the patients for a couple of hours. Thanks fir this great experience!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

And after almost a year of not shooting standard portraits decided to give a try again, (one of my new years resolution is to center myself more into studio work and portraits).

DSC_3332-Edit

DSC_3913-Edit

More street shooting:

DSC_3502

PB110040-Edit

To finish passing Christmas eve in Buenos Aires, Argentina!

PC220285-Edit

PC230333

PC220280-Edit

To wrap the year up in Sao Paulo!

206727_10152368402635104_2055774247_n

Definitely not a boring year, wish I have done more things and maybe restrain for doing others, but the important lesson I have after it finish is that life is only one and its worth living it considering how much crap is going around the world.

Play the video to hear some samba from Rio!

2 thoughts on “2012 – And it’s still clicking!

Leave a Reply

