X100 – not that good, not that bad….

As many have done I bought the x100 as a portable camera with good enough quality and for shooting on the street since getting the M9 would be out of my reach…

The camera has many glitches, which have been already documented all around the web. Most of these doesn’t actually bother me, if I you use the camera as I intend to use it in street photography and be aware that is not a dslr. People complain about the focusing, but I haven’t had yet any real issue with it, is not as fast as a dslr, but well is not a dslr. There is still a lot of improvement for the camera, which could easily be solved by a firmware update considering the mechanical parts are quite good.

The image quality is outstanding, I even feel its even better then the D7000 for this kind of photography, of course files from the D7000 are much cleaner.

The only thing that I really don’t like is the manual focusing which is terrible, incredibly bad. If they manage to fix that, (its electronic, so it could probably be done) the camera will turn into an excellent piece of gear.

Handling is great, and the ovf is a joy to use. Also the camera is dead silent.

I am usually shooting with auto iso and in aperture priority, setting my aperture to 2.0, lens is incredibly sharp. The fn button is set to enable or disable the ND filter. If the place I am shooting doesn’t have much light I turn off the auto iso and set the fn button to be able to change the iso parameter. Most of the time I am shooting with the OVF, but if I am doing a portrait, will change to EVF since that way I can have a more precise look of were to frame the subject. AEL/AFL is set to AFL lock. I use AF-S even thou I have read so many times on the web that AF-C is more precise that I will start experimenting with it to see how it goes.

A pict of the cam:

Some recent images, camera is less then a week old, so not much pictures yet. Hope you enjoy them….

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

DSCF0101

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Leave a Reply

